Hudson Journalism Program Wins State Award

by Sophomore Brooke Busch

The 2017-2018 newspaper and yearbook staff proudly display the program’s first place awards for both newspaper and yearbook.

The  Iowa High School Press Association (IHSPA) awarded the Hudson High School journalism students with top honors.

The 2016-2017 high school newspaper staff received the first ever “All Iowa News Team of the Year” award and the 2016-2017 yearbook, The Pirate, received “Yearbook of the Year” both for Class A.

IHSPA is an organization that encourages scholastic journalism programs to raise the standard of high school publications.

First place honors were earned by sophomore Morgan Hansen, juniors Payton Sherwood and Hannah Wheeler, as well as seniors Grace Jorgensen, Erin O’Malley, Caleb McCullough and Katelyn Pint.

Seven second place honors were brought home by senior Olivia Kolterman, Hansen, O’Malley, and Pint.

Two third place awards were received by Jorgensen and Kolterman.

Three honorable mentions were won by senior Abby Lashbrook, Jorgensen, and Pint.

The Hudson High School journalism program received these awards at the the state journalism conference. There were over 900 people in attendance, making it the largest conference to date.